

2012 PRIMARY

Election Date: 05/08/2012

This is an official notice of an election to be conducted in **FORSYTH** County on **05/08/2012**. This notice contains a list of all of the ballot measures and federal, State, and local offices this county expects, as of this date, to be on the ballot on the date of the election. (See Attachment)

An Election Notice will be prepared not later than 100 days before a regularly scheduled election that permits absentee voting, and as soon as practicable in the case of an election or vacancy election not regularly scheduled. For a second primary, an Election Notice will be prepared, no later than the day following the date the appropriate board of elections orders that a second primary be held.

As soon as ballot styles are printed, this county board of elections will update this notice with the certified candidates for each office and ballot measures and referenda questions that will be on the ballot. For General Elections during even-numbered years, ballots will be printed **60 days** prior to the election. For statewide primaries and other elections (except municipal elections), ballots will be printed **50 days** prior to the election. Municipal ballots are available **30 days** prior to Election Day. **You must request an updated Election Notice**.

Transmitting a Federal Write-in Absentee Ballot:

This notice may be used in conjunction with the federal write-in absentee ballot (FWAB). Covered military & overseas voters seeking to vote by absentee ballot may use the FWAB to register to vote, request an absentee ballot, and vote an official military-overseas ballot. When using the FWAB to register to vote, and/or request an absentee ballot, please transmit your signed and completed FWAB no later than 5:00 p.m. on the day before Election Day. If submitted later than this day and time, your absentee ballot will not be counted. Federal write-in absentee ballots are available at www.NCSBE.gov. You may also request a regular absentee ballot by using the federal postcard application (FPCA), available at www.FVAP.gov. A regular ballot can be mailed, faxed or emailed to you. You may return the FWAB or a regular absentee ballot by mail, secure fax (1-919-715-0351) or email (www.uccay.gov.

Marking a Federal Write-in Absentee Ballot:

When marking a FWAB, for each office for which you wish to vote, write in either a candidate's name or political party designation. For ballot measures or referenda, write either "YES" (you are *for* the ballot measure or referendum) or "NO" (you are *against* the ballot measure or referendum). In a primary, if you are registered as Democrat, Republican or Libertarian, for partisan contests, you may only vote for the candidates of the party for which you are affiliated. You are also eligible to vote for non-partisan contests. If you are registered as unaffiliated ("independent"), in a primary, you may choose to vote for the partisan contests of one of the parties <u>or</u> you may choose to vote for non-partisan contests only. Please contact your local <u>board of elections</u> to confirm your party affiliation or voter registration status.

Please check the website for the NC State Board of Elections (<u>www.NCSBE.gov</u>) for additional information on military-overseas absentee voting.

NC State Board of Elections March 2012

Election Notice Of Contests and Referenda FORSYTH BOARD OF ELECTIONS (05/08/2012)

FORSYTH BOARD OF ELECTIONS (05/08/2012)

	CANDIDATE NAME	NAME ON BALLOT	PARTY
PRESIDI	ENTIAL PREFERENCE		
	BARACK OBAMA	Barack Obama	DEM
	NO PREFERENCE	No Preference	DEM
	NEWT GINGRICH	Newt Gingrich	REP
	RON PAUL	Ron Paul	REP
	MITT ROMNEY	Mitt Romney	REP
	RICK SANTORUM	Rick Santorum	REP
	NO PREFERENCE	No Preference	REP
	ROGER GARY	Roger Gary	LIB
	R HARRIS	R. J. Harris	LIB
	GARY JOHNSON	Gary Johnson	LIB
	CARL PERSON	Carl Person	LIB
	BILL STILL	Bill Still	LIB
	LEE WRIGHTS	Lee Wrights	LIB
	NO PREFERENCE	No Preference	LIB
US HOU	SE OF REPRESENTATIVES DISTI	RICT	
	ELISABETH MOTSINGER	Elisabeth Motsinger	DEM
	BRUCE PELLER	Bruce G. Peller	DEM
US HOU	SE OF REPRESENTATIVES DISTI	RICT	
	MATTHEW NEWTON	Matt Newton	DEM
	MELVIN WATT	Mel Watt	DEM
NC GOV	ERNOR		
	WALTER DALTON	Walter H. Dalton	DEM
	GARY DUNN	Gary M. Dunn	DEM
	BOB ETHERIDGE	Bob Etheridge	DEM
	OLLIE FAISON	Bill Faison	DEM
	GARDENIA HENLEY	Gardenia M. Henley	DEM
	BRUCE BLACKMON	Bruce Blackmon	DEM
	JAMES HARNEY	Jim Harney	REP
	SCOTT JONES	Scott A. Jones	REP
	JAMES MAHAN	Jim Mahan	REP
	PAT MCCRORY	Pat McCrory	REP
	CHARLES MOSS	Charles Kenneth Moss	REP
	PAUL WRIGHT	Paul Wright	REP
NC LIEU	TENANT GOVERNOR		
	ERIC MANSFIELD	Eric L. Mansfield	DEM
	LINDA COLEMAN	Linda D. Coleman	DEM
	DALE FOLWELL	Dale Folwell	REP
	DAN FOREST	Dan Forest	REP
	TONY GURLEY	Tony Gurley	REP
	PAUL MILLS	Grey Mills	REP
		•	

FORSYTH BOARD OF ELECTIONS (05/08/2012)

CANDIDATE NAME	NAME ON BALLOT	PARTY
NC AUDITOR		
JOSEPH DEBRAGGA	Joseph Hank DeBragga	REP
GREG DORITY	Greg Dority	REP
DEBRA GOLDMAN	Debra Goldman	REP
FERN SHUBERT	Fern Shubert	REP
RUDY WRIGHT	Rudy Wright	REP
NC COMMISSIONER OF AGRICULTURE		
WALTER SMITH	Walter Smith	DEM
SCOTT BRYANT	Scott Bryant	DEM
WILLIAM MCMANUS	Bill McManus	REP
STEVE TROXLER	Steve Troxler	REP
NC COMMISSIONER OF INSURANCE		
JAMES MCCALL	James McCall	REP
RICHARD MORGAN	Richard Morgan	REP
JOHN CAUSEY	Mike Causey	REP
NC COMMISSIONER OF LABOR		
MARLOWE FOSTER	Marlowe Foster	DEM
TYRONE RICHARDSON	Ty Richardson	DEM
JOHN BROOKS	John C. Brooks	DEM
NC SECRETARY OF STATE		
ABRAHAM DAOUD	A. J. Daoud	REP
KENNETH GARDNER	Kenn Gardner	REP
EDWARD GOODWIN	Ed Goodwin	REP
MICHAEL BEITLER	Michael (Mike) Beitler	REP
NC SUPERINTENDENT OF PUBLIC INSTRUCTION		
RAY MARTIN	Ray Ernest Martin	REP
DAVID SCHOLL	David Scholl	REP
JOHN TEDESCO	John Tedesco	REP
RICHARD ALEXANDER	Richard Alexander	REP
MARK CRAWFORD	Mark Crawford	REP
NC TREASURER		
ROGER ELMER	Ron Elmer	DEM
JANET COWELL	Janet Cowell	DEM
FRANK ROCHE	Frank Roche	REP
STEVEN ROYAL	Steve Royal	REP
NC STATE SENATE DISTRICT 32		
EARLINE PARMON	Earline W. Parmon	DEM
JAMES TAYLOR	James Taylor	DEM
WILBERT BANKS	Wilbert S. Banks	DEM
NC HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES DISTR	СТ	
EVELYN TERRY	Evelyn Terry	DEM
EVERETTE WITHERSPOON	Everette Witherspoon	DEM
NC HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES DISTR	·	
072		
EDWARD HANES	Edward (Ed) Hanes, Jr.	DEM
SHANNON PATTERSON	S. Wayne Patterson	DEM

FORSYTH BOARD OF ELECTIONS (05/08/2012)

	CANDIDATE NAME	NAME ON BALLOT	PARTY
	JIMMIE BONHAM	Jimmie Lee Bonham	DEM
NC HOU	SE OF REPRESENTATIVES DIS	TRICT	
	JOHN GLADMAN	John C. Gladman	DEM
	DAVID MOORE	David W. Moore	DEM
	LARRY BROWN	Larry R. Brown	REP
	GLENN COBB	Glenn L. Cobb	REP
	DEBRA CONRAD	Debra Conrad	REP
NC HOU 079	SE OF REPRESENTATIVES DIS	TRICT	
	JULIA HOWARD	Julia Craven Howard	REP
	WILLIAM WHITEHEART	Bill Whiteheart	REP
COUNTY	COMMISSIONER - DISTRICT B		
	RICHARD LINVILLE	Richard V. Linville	REP
	MARVIN LOWDER	Gene Lowder	REP
	DAVID PLYLER	Dave Plyler	REP
	ROBERT PRESCOTT	Bob Prescott	REP
	GLORIA WHISENHUNT	Gloria D. Whisenhunt	REP
	STEPHEN BAKER	Mark Baker	REP
	JOHNNY BOST	John R. Bost	REP
	CLAUDE BOYD	Jimmie Boyd	REP
DISTRIC (DAVIS)	T COURT JUDGE DISTRICT 21		
	ROBERT EWING	Robert W. Ewing	
	JERRY JORDAN	Jerry D. Jordan	
	RICHARD RAMSEY	Richard D. Ramsey	
	DAVID SIPPRELL	David Sipprell	
	AMY ALLRED	Amy Allred	

CHOICE	DESCRIPTION		
CONSTITUTIONAL AMENDMENT			
For	Constitutional amendment to provide that marriage between one man and one woman is the only domestic legal union that shall be valid or recognized in this State.		
Against	Constitutional amendment to provide that marriage between one man and one woman is the only domestic legal union that shall be valid or recognized in this State.		